Kirchen

 


Relic busts


Shrine

St. Ursula

The veneration of St. Ursula goes back to a legend. According to this, Ursula came to Cologne from England with her 11,000 virgins, in order to marry. Invading Huns eventually killed Ursula, her husband, and her female companions because they did not want to renounce the Christian belief. Due to the legend and the associated veneration of Ursula, a church was built.

St. Ursula
Address: GoogleMapsUrsulaplatz 24
50668 Cologne
Phone: 0221/133400
Fax: 0221/9130112
Opening hours: Church and Golden Chamber:
Mon., Tue., Thu., Fri. 10 a.m. - 12 p.m., 3 p.m. - 5 p.m.
Wed., Sat. 9 a.m. - 12 p.m., 3 p.m. - 5 p.m.
Remarks: groups please make an appointment
Milestones
4th century Today's Church of St. Ursula can be traced back to a memorial construction for the Christian martyrs
12th century As a visible testimony to the veneration of Ursula, today's galleried basilica was built
13th century At the end of the century, the Gothic construction and the Lady chapel were added
17th century The Baroque dome was built on the Western Tower, and the well-known Golden Chamber established

The Romanesque galleried church was built above a Roman graveyard and on the sight of an early Christian martyr's church.

Today, the church is mostly a post-war reconstruction built in the Romanesque style. Only the glass chancel from 1287 was built in the Gothic style. The furnishings of the church have been orientated to St. Ursula. The eleven windows refer to the eleven thousand virgins who accompanied Ursula, and the unique Golden Chamber donated by the Imperial Counsel, Johann von Crane, in 1643 shows relics from various periods - from the 14th to 17th centuries - with bones and skeletal pieces, which even by today's standards are extremely strange.




Sales Guide:
Sightseeing Map

Download

Sales Guide:
Guided Tours & Programmes

Download

Further information


DE EN